### MINUTES OF REGULAR VOTING MEETING/ REORGANIZATION MEETING BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

#### **DECEMBER 3, 2018**

#### CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Maureen McClure, President, called the Regular Voting Meeting of the Riverview Board of School Directors to order at 7:02 p.m., December 3, 2018, in the library of the Tenth Street Elementary School. She called for a moment of silence to honor President George HW Bush. Dr. McClure mentioned that the Board would first conduct interviews for the open board seat. Mr. DiPietro also mentioned that since Ms. Good was ill this evening, the Temporary President will be able to swear in and administer the Oath of Office. The agenda this evening will be adjusted to accommodate the Oath.

#### VISITORS PRESENT

Ms. Stock, Ms. Hawk, Ms. Schaaf, Ms. Galata, Mr. Pater, Mr. Leech, Ms. Wilton, Mr. Michael, Mr. Ashbaugh

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present: Members: Mrs. Ashbaugh, Mrs. Aughenbaugh, Mr. DiClaudio, Mr. DiPietro, Mrs. Hurt-Robinson, Dr. Loeffler, Mr. Tillman, Dr. McClure; Mr. Falco Muscante, Solicitor (arrival 7:04 pm); Dr. DiNinno, Supt.; Mrs. Tamburro, Recording Secretary

Absent: Ms. Good, Business Manager

# BOARD VACANCY INTERVIEWS & DISCUSSIONS

Dr. McClure thanked everyone for coming. At this time, the Board conducted interviews with Shane Michael and Tara Jean Schaaf.

#### HEARING OF CITIZENS BOARD VACANCY

The Board and visitors commented on the qualifications of the candidates and what a tough decision the selection will be.

#### BOARD VACANCY NOMINATION AND APPROVAL

Dr. McClure opened the floor for nominations for the School Board vacancy. Mr. DiClaudio nominated Shane Michael. Mrs. Ashbaugh nominated Tara Jean Schaaf. Mr. DiPietro nominated Brian Hawk. With no other nominations, Dr. McClure closed the nominations and asked for a roll call vote: Mrs. Ashbaugh, Tara Jean Schaaf; Mrs. Aughenbaugh, Tara Jean Schaaf; Mr. DiClaudio, Shane Michael; Mr. DiPietro, Brian Hawk; Mrs. Hurt-Robinson, Tara Jean Schaaf; Dr. Loeffler, Tara Jean Schaaf; Mr. Tillman, Tara Jean Schaaf; Dr. McClure, Shane Michael (Tara Jean Schaaf, 5 affirmative votes/Shane Michael, 2 affirmative votes/Brian Hawk, 1 affirmative vote)

At this point, the Regular Voting Meeting was recessed and the Reorganization Meeting began at 7:50 pm.

## ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

The floor was opened for nominations for the Election of the Temporary President. Mr. DiPietro nominated Mrs. Ashbaugh. As there is no roll call vote needed for one nomination, Mrs. Ashbaugh was unanimously elected Temporary President. The Reorganization Meeting was turned over to Mrs. Ashbaugh.

#### OATH OF OFFICE

Mrs. Ashbaugh administered the Oath of Office to Mrs. Tara Jean Schaaf.

### MINUTES OF REGULAR VOTING MEETING/ REORGANIZATION MEETING **BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS**

**DECEMBER 3, 2018** 

**ELECTION OF PRESIDENT** Mrs. Ashbaugh opened the floor for the nomination of President. Mr. DiPietro nominated Dr. McClure. Hearing no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Dr. McClure was unanimously elected President.

#### **ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT**

Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Vice President. Mr. DiClaudio nominated Mr. DiPietro. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson nominated Mrs. Ashbaugh. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Mrs. Ashbaugh was elected Vice President by roll call vote (Mrs. Ashbaugh, 5 affirmative votes/Ms. DiPietro, 4 affirmative votes).

#### **ELECTION OF BOARD** COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Education Committee Chairperson. Mr. DiClaudio nominated Mr. DiPietro. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson nominated Mrs. Ashbaugh. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Mrs. Ashbaugh was elected Education Committee Chairperson by roll call vote (Mrs. Ashbaugh, 6 affirmative votes/Mr. DiPietro, 3 affirmative votes). Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Finance Committee Chairperson. Mr. DiClaudio nominated Mr. DiPietro. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson nominated Mr. Tillman. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Mr. DiPietro was elected Finance Committee Chairperson by roll call vote (Mr. DiPietro, 6 affirmative votes/Mr. Tillman, 3 affirmative votes). Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Student Life Committee Chairperson. Mr. DiPietro nominated Mr. DiClaudio. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Mr. DiPietro was elected Student Life Committee Chairperson. Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Forbes Road and Legislative Delegate. Mrs. Ashbaugh nominated Dr. Loeffler. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson nominated Mrs. Aughenbaugh. Mrs. Aughenbaugh declined the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Dr. Loeffler was nominated Forbes Road and Legislative Delegate. Dr. McClure opened the floor for the nomination of Eastern Area Delegate. Mr. DiClaudio nominated Mrs. Aughenbaugh. Hearing no other nominations, Dr. McClure moved that the nominations be closed. Mrs. Aughenbaugh was elected Eastern Area Delegate. Personnel, Policy and Property will be a committee of the whole Board, as needed.

#### REORGANIZATION BUSINESS

Mr. DiClaudio moved that items A, B, and C as listed be approved. Mr. DiPietro seconded the motion which passed unanimously on roll call vote.

#### A) Calendar of Meetings

The regularly scheduled meetings of the Board of School Directors shall be held as scheduled on the Calendar as presented this meeting.

The Reorganization Meeting shall be held on Monday, December 2, 2019 at 7:00 pm. All meetings shall be held on Mondays at 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted in the Calendar or further published notice.

### MINUTES OF REGULAR VOTING MEETING/ REORGANIZATION MEETING BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

**DECEMBER 3, 2018** 

#### B) Authorization for Proper Signature

The Board President, Secretary, and Treasurer are authorized to sign checks on School District accounts. Authorization is given for any required changes of signatures on all bank accounts. Authorization is given for the execution of signature cards as required to implement this action.

#### C) Facsimile Signatures

The Board President, Board Secretary and Board Treasurer are authorized to use facsimile signatures for signing checks. The Board Secretary and Board Treasurer are authorized to operate the check signing device.

At this point, the Regular Voting Meeting was reconvened at 8:05 pm

#### HEARING OF CITIZENS MOTION FOR APPROVAL

None

#### MOTION FOR APPROVAL

Upon the recommendation of Dr. McClure, Mrs. Ashbaugh moved that the following Personnel Item be approved- MOTION 1:

Designate current Class IV Head Custodian, Albert Tuerffs, as Director of Maintenance for the Riverview School District as per the Riverview Education Support Professionals Association (RESPA) Collective Bargaining Agreement effective December 3, 2018. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

#### SOLICITOR'S REPORT

Mr. Muscante circulated his written report.

#### **HEARING OF CITIZENS**

The Board had some discussion about whether or not to formally create a board safety committee. It was agreed that this could be a topic for discussion in the future.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Mr. DiClaudio moved that the meeting be adjourned. Meeting adjourned at 8:12 pm.